Are All The Girls In The World Going In One Direction?

It seems like just yesterday, Justin Bieber was the biggest topic at school. There were screaming girls ranting on about how cute he was and how inspirational his music is and there were aggravated boys who would rant on and on about how stupid he was. Everyone either really loved him or really hated him.
Well, I believe the Justin Bieber trend has passed. However, a new one has already taken its place. And it’s even worse than the last.

This new trend is a boy-band that calls itself One Direction, which includes members,Harry Styles, Niall Horan, Liam Payne, Louis Tomlinson and Zayn Malik.  Five boys who, merely two years ago, did not know each other, but came together as one band after auditioning for the X-Factor. Apparently, they are all British, with the exception of Niall, who is Irish.There’s one thing I have noticed: girls really like boys with accents.

With only two albums out so far, Take Me Home and Up All Night, girls all over the world are swooning over this European boy-band. One Direction beat out Rihanna and even Justin Bieber himself for two awards at the 2012 MTV Video Music Awards. They recently performed two concerts, one on Friday, November 30th and one the following day, Saturday, December 1st, in the Cheshire area. The results of that were unbelievable.
I accidentally gave word about it to my friend who lives in Florida and she almost began crying because she at least wanted to be remotely close to them like me. One of my friends, in fact, had gone and met two of the members in a McDonald’s after the concert. She claimed it was the best day of her life. I was out at a restaurant with my father, his friend and her daughter and the second I mentioned the concert she was not fortunate enough to attend, she almost threw a fit in the restaurant. And she’s almost fifteen years old.

Sure, the members of One Direction have decent singing voices, catchy songs and adorable accents, but, are they really worth crying over? I suggest girls ask themselves that. I am personally not a fan of One Direction, but also not a hater. They are good, but, are they that good? Teenage girls typically over-react and obsess over everything little thing that comes their way, but I question whether or not this crazy obsession over One Direction is a passing trend. Considering this craze is ten times worse than the Bieber one, I wonder what will come next after One Direction is gone?

~Isabella Corradi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *