When are you too old to Trick- or -Treat?

 

Nobody wants to be that downer of a neighbor who tells kids they are too old to trick or treat. But, someone has to do it. You don’t need to rain on their parade if they are behaving, not out too late, and if they have an appropriate costume. Honestly though, when does that happen? The little cuties go trick or treating and are back home sorting their candy by 9 pm at the latest. For the older kids, the time has just begun. Many candy givers have to go to work the next day, so answering the door constantly is super annoying.  In some towns, there is a law for trick or treating! For example, in Washington County, Maryland trick treaters can dress up and ask for candy from 6-8pm, as long as they are under the age of twelve. Seems to me there should be something in the middle of total restrictions, and a free-for-all candy night.

As a thirteen year old, already planning my Halloween costume for this year, I don’t think I’m too old to go trick or treating. However, I’m not going to be super rowdy either. I won’t be obnoxiously loud, or wearing a super scary costume. And, off the streets by 9:30. I do agree, that some people who stay out late, or are disruptive and a high schooler probably shouldn’t be Trick-or-treating. After all, the average kid has been trick or treating since age 2, so at the least they had a good 10 year run. When they have kids they’ll go out for 10 years for every kid. 20 plus years seems more than enough to me.

~Tess

One thought on “When are you too old to Trick- or -Treat?

  1. I agree with you on this matter, that older “kids” should not be able to trick-or-treat any later than about 8:30 p.m. I’m twelve and I will still be trick-or-treating, but this doesn’t mean I will go later or be “rowdy” as you mentioned. Although this rule should be enforced, it is a little bit absurd to have a law on it. Being arrested for trick-or-treating to late doesn’t exactly seem like criminal behavior. It might be annoying, but that is to an extent as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *