My Shopping Addiction Helps Needy Children? SAY WHAT?!?!

Blake Mycoskie traveled to Argentina in 2006, and befriended young children, but he felt horrible when he noticed that most of them walked around with no shoes. These kids would have deep, painful cuts on their feet,that led to dangerous infection. Besides medical hazards, tons of these children  are denied schooling because shoes are mandatory for their school uniform. Blake realized that these children may never learn how to read, just because because their families couldn’t afford a pair of shoes. This guy wanted desperately to help, so he created Toms Shoes  which is a radical shoe company. Whenever a pair of Toms is bought from a customer, a new pair of shoes is delivered to a kid in need.

My hot pink Toms came in the mail yesterday and I’m in love with a pair of shoes. If I close my eyes, it feels like I’m walking in a bowl of cushy marshmallows. Not only do my feet feel like heaven, but now I feel amazing because my random purchase sent shoes to a kid in Africa (or another poor place) who really needed them! Toms are cute, comfy, and affordable at $54, but one thing annoys me. Today when I was walking to my bus stop,  I slipped on ice, and basically fractured my butt because these shoes are so dang slippery! They have 0% traction but it’s still worth the sacrifice, just don’t wear them when you’re surrounded in black ice. This doesn’t make these shoes any less cute though, so put your shopping addiction to good use! Buy a pair of Toms for yourself, and give a kid a better future.

~Christina Nguyen

One thought on “My Shopping Addiction Helps Needy Children? SAY WHAT?!?!

  1. I had never heard of these before, but I think that they are a great idea!!! Even if the shoes aren’t perfect, they look nice and go towards a good cause. Now that I heard about them, I am looking forward to getting a pair for myself.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *