Meal or No Meal?

Greasy and near impossible to identify is not exactly what I want to be saying when someone asks me how my lunch was. But there are truly no other words. Everyday nearly 800 students pass through the cafeteria expecting a meal that will fuel them for the rest of the day. Instead, they end up eating cookies and chips because the so-called “chicken nuggets” the cafeteria serves us, skeeve everyone.

During the CMT’s the teachers always tell us to make sure we eat a good breakfast. On any given day when we have a test we should be able to get that same good meal to have energy and do well; but rather than being treated with a delicious and hearty meal we take one step towards the lunch line and turn our heads.

I can recall the time when the lunchroom served Chinese food. I didn’t take my chances though. It was nasty to look at, I couldn’t imagine putting it in my body. The classes that followed after lunch were filled with kids running to the bathroom and complaining about queasy stomachs. As doubtful as it may seem I can assure you that this actually happened and it was not a pretty sight.

There was a recent article about how students in New Jersey had become extremely ill from the food they were served at school. Some were even hospitalized. Dateline released this unfortunate news, which came as a shock to most parents, but students can definitely relate. We know how disgusting the food can be. The things that we’re served is nowhere near edible and sometimes causes children to waste not only money and food, but contributes to lack of energy in students and their poor performance in school.

~Clare French

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *